Favorite Star Wars Movie?

Ford:
For me this is one of those which-child-is-your-favorite kinds of questions. I would say Empire for its weight, richness and well-roundedness. I would say A New Hope for its iconic resonance. I would say Return for the Ewoks (actually, while most of my friends hate the Ewoks, I always liked them, thus giving punch to Lucas’ claim that kids like Jar Jar). If I had to pick one film to watch right now, I’d say Empire. I think that Empire was the pinnacle of space opera sci-fi in which all the elements came together: writing (both in character and plot), effects, production design and on and on. But I still would hedge before dubbing it my favorite, mainly because I am so fascinated by what went into making the first Star Wars possible: the innovation, the determination, the vision. For me the process is as admirable (and sometimes moreso) than the product. So as much as I’d like to play devil’s advocate to Josh’s rabid fanboy devotion, I have to side with him: A New Hope gets my vote.

Josh:
New Hope is my favorite. When I was a kid, I liked Empire the best, because I also liked the Empire better than the Rebellion (the Empire had cooler uniforms and no girls on their team). But as I’ve gotten older (and gotten over the whole Little Rascals He-Man Woman Haters Club thing), my opinions have changed and, now, it’s not even close. New Hope is my favorite. It was new and it was old. It took archetypal stories and archetypal characters and made them into something people had never seen before. It was fun, imaginative, and exciting. And it was gutsy. Make no mistake; the sequels do an excellent job of expanding the universe, heightening the drama, and finishing the story. But even without such essentials as Yoda, the Imperial March, Vader’s big reveal, and (of course) Boba Fett, Episode IV: A New Hope has everything I could ever want in a Star Wars movie.

So what about YOU? What’s YOUR favorite Star Wars movie?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Favorite Star Wars Movie?

  1. David R. says:

    At the moment I’m kind of torn between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope, but I went ahead and voted for Sith because I know not many other people will. That movie is huge, and thanks to a career-best score from John Williams it really amplifies the “opera” side of “space opera.”

    Sure, Natalie Portman turns in a weak performance, but that’s more than compensated for by McGregor, McDairmid, Jackson, and Christensen. Also, Anakin’s tortured scream of “I hate you!” rips into me more than anything in Empire. I’ll stop before I launch into full-blown prequel apologist mode, but I really love that movie.

    That said, I love the love for the one that started it all. Josh’s enthusiasm for that movie is a lot of why it’s in contention for my number one spot today.

  2. Brian Metz says:

    Empire hands down. Why? Well, let me give you my two cents. A New Hope is awesome. But Empire takes that awesome up to eleven. Here is why. Luke is training to be a Jedi, Han, Leia, Chewy and Threepio are running from Star Destroyers and getting away if it hadn’t been for the deadliest bounty hunter in the galaxy – Boba Fett. There is so much more character development, action, tension, drama, comedy and meaning in Empire that it could stand alone – even with the cliff hanger ending. Han is frozen in carbonite! Lando Calrissian double crosses and then seeks redemption! There are AT-AT’s in the snow! Han cuts open a Taun-taun! A Taun-taun! Yoda acts all crazy and then we learn he is the most adept, wise, and amazing Jedi – ever. Vader is on the warpath and kills half of his commanders. There is no Grand Moff holding his leash in Empire – he is full on attack mode. Bossk! IG-88! Zuckus! Dengar! Urganauts! Wampa’s! The Imperial march! “He is as clumsy as he is stupid. General, prepare your troops for a surface attack.”
    “There will be a substantial reward for the one who finds the Millenium Falcon. You are free to use any methods necessary but I want them alive – no disintegrations!”

    “We would be honored if you would join us.”

  3. Judah says:

    New Hope for sure. Empire is coolest but has some slow uneven parts and would not be half as good without the deep emotional connection created by New Hope.

    I dare anyone to vote for Episode 1

    AHahhahahahhahhahahaahah

  4. Uhhh… Why isn’t the Christmas special an option?

Leave a Reply

